Letter says US Congress won’t support free trade with Colombia

January 18, 2008

Seven members of the US House of Representatives, – Michael H. Michaud (Maine), Betty Sutton (Ohio), Phil Hare (Illinois), Linda Sanchez (California), Nancy Boyda (Kansas), Marcy Kaptur (Ohio) and Keith Ellison(Minnesota) – have sent a letter from the Congress of the United States to Canadian Parliamentarians. It starts with a reminder that any future trade deals the US or Canada strike with any other country would “no doubt have an impact on both our respective economies and our unique bilateral relationship.” The letter goes on to explain why the US Congress will not support a ‘free trade’ deal between their country and Colombia.

– Download a .pdf version of the original letter (169 kb) 
– Adobe Reader required.